#1: Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

WHY THIS PIE?

Admittedly, I was very closed minded about the idea of a Strawberry Rhubarb pie.  I’d never had one before, and well…rhubarb is not appealing, and who the heck puts strawberries in pie? Despite my silly assumptions, I am so glad that I got over myself and made this pie!  It’s delicious! The perfect balance of sweet and sour.

Here’s the recipe I used: Grandma’s Strawberry Rhubarb Pie (Courtesy of Valarie Enters, FoodNetwork.com)

HOW DID IT GO?

The recipe calls for fresh fruit, but I bought the rhubarb and strawberries frozen and pre-cut from a local fruit stand.   Also, be sure to let the pie cool a few hours before serving.  If you cut into the pie while still hot, it will be a runny mess inside and you’ll never get a decent slice out of the thing.

moment of truth

I was pleasantly surprised by this pie.  And I would totally make it again.

Leave a Reply

