#5: Pecan Pie

WHY THIS PIE?

My memories of Pecan Pie largely relate to wanting to go to the dentist.    Don’t get me wrong; I love my sweets.  But sickeningly sweet pie with bitter pecans isn’t my idea of tasty pie.  If Pecan Pie is going to exist in my world, it won’t come with corn syrup.   So, this week’s challenge begins: Pecan Pie sans corn syrup.

This week’s recipe is the cleverly named Pecan Pie V (Courtesy of Elaine Helms, AllRecipes.com)

Pecan Pie

HOW DID IT GO?

The filling of this pie reminded me a lot of a wet cookie dough.  It baked up nicely, but maintained a nice and semi-solid filling on the inside.  I found that the crust dried out after being uncovered for the duration of the baking; next time I’ll cover the edge with a rim of foil.

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH

I have to admit, I have never had a Pecan Pie that I liked.  I totally relied on the feedback of my trusty test-tasters at work.  (And they’ve already told me to cover the dang thing entirely in pecans…)

Leave a Reply

