#7: Mincemeat Pie

WHY THIS PIE?

This week’s pie was another that I’ve never made nor tasted before.  I’d heard recommendations of Mincemeat Pie from friends, though it always sounded pretty unappetizing to me.  But, in the name of The Pie Challenge I’ve got to expand my horizons.  I turned to my trusty ‘ole Alton Brown for the recipe.

This week’s recipe is Mincemeat Pie (Courtesy of Alton Brown, FoodNetwork.com)

HOW DID IT GO?

Contrary to my initial impression, this pie does not contain any meat.  The only animal-based products are butter and beef suet.  (Suet is the hard fat around the kidneys and loin.)

This pie was very simple to make.  All you have to do is pulse all the ingredients in a food processor, let them sit in the refrigerator for at least 3 days, then pour them into the crust.

 


Mincemeat Pie, Before the Oven

 

When I piled all the ingredients in my food processor and started to pulse, it nearly maxed out the capacity of my bowl.  (I have a 7 cup food processor)  I should have ground the apples separately, removed them from the processor bowl, ground the remaining ingredients, then combined them all together.

The crust was fairly simple to make as well.  The recipe calls for “grated butter” (on a cheese grater)… brilliant way to get the butter into small pieces while keeping it nice and cold.   I found the dough to be a little dry while kneading; I had to add quite a few more spritzes of water than the recipe called for.  (If you’re just learning to make pie crust, I find that it’s better to make your dough a little on the moist side.  It’s less liable to fall apart, and you can always add more flour if it’s sticky when you’re rolling it out.)

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH

The pie was a huge hit with my family!  They said that the pie tasted very fresh, that the flavor of every ingredient was clearly distinguishable, and that this is not “Your Mama’s Mincemeat Pie”.  Having no basis to compare this pie to, I have to take their word for it. 🙂

I will definitely make this pie again!

 

Mincemeat Pie, All Done!

 

Leave a Reply

