#9 Sweet Potato Pie

WHY THIS PIE?

Thanks to you, the mystery readers of this blog, the selection of this week’s pie was quite easy.  You voted on Sweet Potato Pie, so here it is!  (Now, if only there was scratch and eat internet…)

This week’s recipe is Sweet Potato Pie (courtesy of Alton Brown, FoodNetwork.com)

 

Sweet Potato Pie

 

HOW DID IT GO?

Well, I burned the first batch of sweet potatoes in the steamer (yeah, make sure there’s enough water.  This goes back to Principle #1: Pay Attention).  The second batch of potatoes steamed just fine, though my kitchen needed some airing out.  Other than the potatoes, the rest of the filling was pretty straightforward to put together.  The recipe calls for “salt to taste”, which wasn’t particularly helpful for me.  I’m not used to inexact measurements in baking and this threw me off.

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH

The finished result looks like a lot like a pumpkin pie, but don’t be fooled.  It really tastes nothing like pumpkin.  You might get your hopes up if you don’t approach this one with an open mind.  Also, I wonder if I picked the wrong kind of yogurt.  I used Nancy’s Organic Whole Milk Plain Yogurt, and the pie ended up with a sour tinge.  I have a feeling that this is not a traditional Sweet Potato Pie, though this is the first Sweet Potato Pie I’ve made.  The pie was very creamy in texture, which made me wonder if the pie was not fully cooked through, though I did measure the internal temperature as Alton Brown recommends in the recipe.  Overall, the sour flavor from the yogurt really overpowered the rest of the ingredients.  To be honest, this was not my favorite pie.   Next time, I’ll try a different Sweet Potato Pie recipe.

Leave a Reply

